It’s Not Magic, But…

Later on, I’m sure I’ll share more on this blog about how I eventually came to Christ six years ago. For now, I’m still the new guy at the party (here on the blog and, I suppose, as a Christ follower) and I don’t believe you and I are quite that close yet.

One detail I will share right now is that I was able to easily forfeit most of my sinful behaviors once I gave my life to Him. The one thing that I really struggled with submitting, though, was my writing. After all, I had spent nearly ten years of my life trying to become a respected horror author. And at the time I came to Christ, I was well on the path to doing so.

But then the day came where I heard Christ pretty clearly…that still, quiet voice saying: “Yeah, the writing…that’s becoming an idol and a tool of self-worth. So I’m going to need you to hand that over.”

After much wresting and questioning and denial, I was finally able to give it over. Some days, honestly, I still resent it, but I know it was the right thing.

Part of giving my writing to God came in the form of the one and half years I spent on the book that I am currently shopping around. Now, take a look at some of these stats.

Before coming to Christ, in the six years I spent actively trying to get an agency interested in my work, I got a grand total of ONE agent that showed any interest and they eventually passed.

In the six months I have been seeking agency representation for the book I have written for Him, I have gotten FOUR positive agency responses.  Granted, all but one of them eventually passed, but still…as far as I’m concerned, this is proof positive of the fruits that come from obedience.

Logically, sure, part of the reason for the interest may be because my faith-centered book has wider audience potential than any of my darker work written under my other name (The Other, as I call him on this blog). Also, at the risk of sounding conceited, I am a much better writer than I was two years ago.

And is submitting my writing to God responsible for that? Yes, I think so. Partly, anyway. Since giving my life and talents over to Christ, the motivation behind my writing has shifted in some way I can’t quite explain. And while I still enjoy writing dark stuff, there is a core of hope to it all now.  Even in the relatively dark horror novel I recently signed a contract for under The Other, there is an undertone of being reborn into hope (although I’m not sure I wrote it specific enough for non-believers to pick up on it).

So while I am well aware that believing in God and giving your life to Christ is by no means a magic route to getting closer to reaching your goals and dreams, I do believe that he has been rewarding me in many small ways ever since handing my writing over to Him.

Anyone else experience anything like this before? If so, please share in the comments.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s Not Magic, But…

  1. Tracey Boyer says:

    Your faith is inspiring! I think you have the potential to reach many people through your writing. It is a gift from God and I see that he is blessing you in your works. You have the power to change people’s lives who might never be reached before. This is so amazing! I can’t wait to read your book soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

